The beautiful depression

Beautiful…depression…these are definitely two words that you would never expect to see together.

Here you are thinking,”Tenie has lost the plot!” 

Let me explain…last year I was diagnosed with major depression and anxiety. This was as a direct result of a traumatic life experience.

My sleep patterns changed, I lost my appetite and was not able to concentrate or remember things…I felt like i was losing myself.

Mental illness has a very negative stigma attached to it however, in my world it is the norm.

I have five people in my immediate family who suffer from either depression or bipolar mood disorder.

Even though I am exposed to it on a daily basis, it was not easy trying to deal with my very own diagnosis. 

I managed to get the help I needed quite quickly and have to pop a pill a day to keep me going…but I have chosen to own it.

Living with any illness is not easy…however, we have to choose to fight. Trust me being positive is sometimes impossible these days but I have come to realise that having a bad day once in a while is ok. 

I have also had to learn that somethings are just out of my control…I have to let go and let God!

Talking about it helps tons…so I have chosen to share this little bit of me today.

XOXO

Tenie

P.s: A huge thank you to each and every person who has taken the time to read my posts. It is so amazing to read your positive feedback. 

 

Author:

Having discovered the magical world of makeup and beauty...I have become obsessed with the latest and rather interesting trends that are rocking at the moment! ... I am definitely fun fearless and discovering new things about myself and the world on a daily basis....follow me on my journey as I add colour (one lipstick at a time) to the world 😊 I will also be taking you through my various food and lifestyle adventures as well as topics that are close to my heart. Follow me on instagram: @tenishafrank21

One thought on “The beautiful depression

  1. Aaaaw Tenie, I’m very proud of you. You are strong and beautiful and have the biggest heart and it saddens me to know that I’m not close by to help in any way l can. Just keep that smile on your face and think positive and if that doesn’t help then just think about your holiday to good old mama D’s home and all the partying we are going to have to take our troubles away. Miss you and mummy more than words can describe, can’t wait for your visit. Love you to the moon and back my beautiful girl😘😘😘😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

